First whole day in Uganda is all but over. I am sitting on a sofa, listening to crap pop music, drinking beer, sweating a large amount and feeling like its time for bed despite it only being 8pm.
I don't want to write too much as I'm not particularly well-disposed towards Kampala at the moment, and I'm sure the entry would turn into a massive rant. It's probably just tiredness and the fact that I have spent way too much money on things I didn't really want to spend money on (including a crap phone, on a rubbish network and overpriced motorbike or boda boda drivers).
Anyway, I wondered around Entebbe this morning, saw Lake Victoria. I think I walked about 10km all in all. Then I got a bus to Kampala this afternoon which took about 45 mins and passed without any moments of note.
Once in Kampala I got on the scariest motorbike of my life. I had my 20KG bag on my bag, and my small backpack with my laptop on my front, which made balancing an issue. I also had no helmet as apparently the drivers dont carry them for passengers here! By the time I got of the bike my spine was aching so bad. But I was alive, which was a start.
I then headed the 9k over to Rachael and Sarah's place, which is much nicer, and sat with them for a while. The bike ride back (again helmetless) took place during Kampala's rush hour, which was not fun! We crashed into another bike, but only gently so no one fell off or anything.
I realised about 2 hours ago that all I have eaten since being in Uganda was 4 samosas, so grabbed some food. Avocados to start followed by a cheese burger. Classic Ugandan food....!
Thats about my day so far. I realise this is the probably the dullest blog entry ever written, but I am bored and needed something to do
Thursday, 24 June 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment