Jon arrived on wednesday and we hung in Entebbe for the night. We slept in a tent which was immensely cool, except for the wild dogs that barked all night, the birds that started singing at 4am, and the guy next to the tent who insisted on revving his motorbike for what felt like hours.
At the hostel we camped at we met a lot of cool people, including a girl who had just returned from Gulu studying similar things to me, and a UN guy who is big in DDR in South Sudan. He was on his way back home to S'efrica for a week, but on his way back to Juba (Sudan) he is going to meet with me to give me lots of documents off his computer (some of which haven't even been published yet) which will be massively helpful. He gave me his email too, so when I get bored of life in Local Government, I'm going to bug him for a job in the UN (bugging people is definitely the way get places I have found - I think my new motto is 'if at first you don't succeed, email and call people until they do what you want'!).
Jon and I spent the next day on the beach at Lake Victoria where I got hench sunburn which now makes showering pretty unpleasant. We met a guy at the lake, who introduced himself by saying 'I'm Adam, I am a muslim' which was fairly interesting. He was praying in the lake though, which was quite cool.
We then attempted to walk back to the hostel from the lake, but got lost and ended up wandering through the army barracks, which was a fairly interesting detour! After that we got in a matatu (taxi-minibus thingy) to Kampala but it broke down and started smoking, so we all had to get out and get in another one.
In Kampala we met Antony again and a Candian girl named Nicole who informed us it was 'Canada Day', so we had to go out for beers. You can't not celebrate Canada Day right? I mean thats an important day, so we HAD to get drunk. It would have been rude otherwise!
So we went back to the bar Antony and I drank at the other day (turns out we're now semi-celebs as we danced on the bar apparently - I have no memory of this!). We played some pool with two local guys we met, and they're taking us to watch the football game today. We also spent a lot of time talking with a guy who works on the Radio here, but his Station got shut down because it was pro-Buganda (the southern and dominant tribal group) and the President/ruling group is not Bugandan, so President Museveni shut it down. He also predicted that there will be violence during the elections in 2011 which is not good.
He also explained how Jon looks like Steven Gerrard (and insisted on calling him Steve all night) and attempted to justify why Africans don't wash their hands after they pee and why they litter. I'm not going to lie, he had no case at all! I'm not sure we convinced him though. He is picking us up tonight to take us to a theatre to watch the Ghana game after we watch the game in the afternoon which is awesome.
Also, I met a girl the other night, and she gave me her number, but she wrote it wrong, and she got her brother to pass on a note to Jon with her number on, but Jon thought it was a prostitute or something dodgy (as I hadn't explained she lived near the bar) so he didn't take the note, and so my shot at love (HA!) is ruined! Also, I went to her house to say hey, and her dad said she wasn't in (even though she clearly was) but he had a massive knife in his hand, so I decided maybe to give that one a miss!!
Friday, 2 July 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment